Day 24~Cheerfulness~Be Gentle, Be Love

“A new study found that the average child is more likely to own a cell phone than a book. I guess that would explain why he’s average.” -Jimmy Fallon

A man is madly in love with a princess and wants to propose, but an evil witch has cast a spell on him, and now he can say only one word a year. So he waits 14 agonizing years—accumulating all his words—before approaching his beloved.

Finally, the big day arrives. When he sees her, his heart skips a beat. He gathers his nerve, drops to his knees, and intones, “My darling, I have waited many years to say this: Will you marry me?”

The princess turns around, smiles, and says, “Pardon?”

 Cheerfulness. As the song should say, “I get cheerful with a little help from my friends.” Both of the jokes above are from them.

Most of my friends are my age. We have kinda gotten into a rhythm at this age. We do not call each other after 9:00pm. We laud the IQ of the one who knows all the lyrics to the “Big Bang Theory” theme song. We have impassioned arguments about pension plans. We support each other’s gourmet gadget, make-up, jewelry, and home decorating parties. We sit with reverence during each other’s doctors’ appointments. We applaud each other’s progress on BP numbers. Anticipating the osteo- apocalyptic crack from our knees, when one of us drops a quarter, the one in closest proximity points far-left and says “look, Robert Redford!”

We actually turn giddy when “the Skype thing” works and friend each other fiendishly on Facebook, Twitter, Polyvore, Pinterest, and Animoto. And we have all adjusted to communiqués of less than 420 characters. We advise each other in the digital manners of social interactions.

For example, when I dove into the Facebook moshpit, I received an email with the Subject Line: Important Facebook Etiquette. It read:

ALWAYS check who has Liked something that you would like to like because sometimes some dude you don’t like is liking something you like and it is likely going to be, like, awkward..

And, there’s more:

Resist the temptation to “Friend Request” your daughter. The rejection is more painful than the C-section that brought her here.

We are also Cheerfully patient with each other’s waning eyesight.  A recent Facebook exchange proceeded as follows:

Friend 1: Spent the morning cleaning my condo
Friend 2: Why in the world are you cleaning your condoms! Oh, sorry, didn’t have my glasses on 

One of my dear friends is particularly adept at sending videos to cheer me up. Recently, during a difficult time, he sent an email with the Subject Line: “I know you are going through some hurdles right now” followed by this link  in the message box:

To boost each other’s Cheerfulness, we have started playing the “Here All Week” game. This game can be played while skyping, lunching, texting, chatting, or conference calling. Here are a few excerpts:

“Duty Free Store Manager needs to relax: All I did, was to go into a fitting room, shut the door, wait awhile, then yell very loudly, ‘Hey! There’s no toilet paper in here. My court date is in July.’ Here All Week!”

 And

 “I am proud that my parents taught me to respect my elders. It’s just getting harder to find them. Here All Week!” 

“Last night was asked if I was on drugs. I said yes – was drug to church for wedding/funerals; Drug by my ears when I was disrespectful to any adults, including teachers, my parents/grandparents/uncle/aun​ts. Thanks Mom/Dad for drugging me. Here All Week!” 

“If at first you don’t succeed, then skydiving is not for you! Here All Week!”
“Radioactive cats have 18 half-lives. Here All Week!”
“Just wondering: If you jog backwards, will you gain weight? Here All Week!”
“We have enough youth: how about a fountain of ‘smart’? Here All Week!”

 And, my personal favorite, “Heck is where people go who don’t believe in Gosh. Here All Week!”

We are cheering each other on through the aging process which is helpful since two of our tribe were former cheerleaders, one was our high school mascot, and all of us were born before man walked on the moon.

We are developing the perspective of a vintage, wiser tribe and Cheerfulness is leading the VisionQuest. (I intentionally omitted the joke about the Readers’ glasses.)

Day 24 Cheerfulness in the Be Gentle, Be Love class is dedicated to my Cheerfulness tribe!

Cuz’ we are Here. Here All Week and Beyond!

Leave a Reply

