What to get for my soul at the Grocery Store

Yesterday I ran into the grocery store to grab “a few things.” My grocery list is usually crafted in order of where items will be in the store. Performance-based grocery shopping! Ease and efficiency contained on paper!

my grocery list

My efforts were stifled yesterday.

The whole store (curiously except for the liquor section which stayed resolutely in the same place), had been rearranged to accommodate the holiday. Products, displays, extremely loud disco holiday  (AvaMaria with a drum machine downbeat) reminded me of the obvious.

And my whole plan for efficiency and purposeful shopping crashed in a Jenga heap of personal dissatisfaction.

All the labor of man is for his mouth, and yet the soul is not satisfied ~Eccl. 6:7

I think my soul sometimes feels like I did yesterday at the grocery store. When I veer off my regular  spiritual nutritional plan of gratitude, praise, and worship, my soul suffers. But it does so quietly. Unlike the petulant toddler overstimulated into distress by all of the possibilities, my soul achingly withdraws and shrinks.

I need to compose a soul-based grocery list. It might include the following:

My Souls Grocery List

If you wrote your soul-based grocery list, what would be on it?
What comprises your soul’s grocery list?
Is it time to pause, especially in the extreme busyness of this season, and restock your soul’s pantry?

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!
~ Isaiah 26:3

Leave a Reply

