What to Tell the Storm

Seeing the Wind

The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit. John 3:8

lifeguard walks on water

One of my dear friends, Anne, posted this picture on my Facebook wall.

It speaks to the miraculous power of Christ to transcend matter and walk on water. Peter had this same opportunity too, and for a very, very brief moment he overcame his fear and joined Jesus.

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. Matthew 14: 29

But then…

But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Matthew 14:30

And Christ was there.

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

Did Peter doubt? I thought Thomas was the doubting apostle. Doubting Thomas. But our Lord specifically describes Peter’s sinking by using the word doubt.

What happened to cause Peter to doubt?

Peter saw the wind. 

How is the wind seen? The wind can be heard. Its affects can be seen. But the wind itself cannot be seen. It has no power in visible form. My rational, logical mind knows this. But, my ego is into power and it tells me about the wind and reminds me of what it can do that I cannot do. And I, like Peter, give in to the memory of its previous destruction.

And, in the memory, is a story of despair. Like Peter, I become overwhelmed. I focus on the storm and not the Savior. Peter and I become overwhelmed with the unseen. In that sinking feeling, we start to sink. For some, the sinking starts with the first drink. Well, for Peter (and me), sinking starts with the first think.

My dad says, “Peter forgot to remember.”

He forgot to remember the truth of Who was inviting him to walk. He looked around, below, over, and under the One who extended His hand.  When Peter looked away from the power of Christ, he saw the potentialpower of the wind and he was afraid.

And he quit.  Briefly.

What do i think i see that is not there?

The potential of power outside of Christ’s grip can preoccupy me, just like Peter. Perception is not always reality. The brushstrokes of chaos will often obliterate my focal point. I will think it is too hard, too scary, too outside of my comfort zone, the zone of comfort never promised by Christ.

I must return to Him and Affirm:  What is true. What is noble. What is right. What is pure. What is lovely. What is admirable What is excellent. What is praiseworthy. What is standing right in front of me on the choppy waters of my circumstances. The fear is the illusion I really can’t see. The anxiety is the result of the story I tell myself. And the fear is the literal riptide caused by the rising tide of my circumstances. If I forget to remember. 

Do you also forget to remember?

John 16:33

Success is not found in pushing back against the tide or in willing the tide to recede. And it is not found in quitting.

As Raymond Edman once said, “Never doubt in the dark what God told you in the light.”

It is not in pushing against the conflict but in grabbing on with both hands and humbly, even with great courage, submitting to the weight of the conflict and allowing God to have His way and bring me through. It is recognizing that this is part of the story of my life. That acceptance is the place where real peace is found. The peace that Jesus promised.  God understands that my human limitations cause me to ask “Why?” stormy disasters happen but He desires to build a relationship with me that reassures me that He knows all and will never allow anything to dislodge me from His hand.  Jody Neufeld

Peter did forget…briefly… then he called “Save me Lord” and Jesus was already there! In times of storms, it is best if we affirm and focus intently on Christ. When we start looking at the wind (circumstances) like Peter, we start to sink, but we need to keep our eyes on Him, and we will walk on water. When I feel I am drowning in life’s situations, it is best to bypass worry. It is best to Remember that The life guard walks on water.  Peter quickly remembered what I must also remember… I belong to Him…We belong with Him.

And God says, “Remember who I am and don’t forget the grace by which you stand. I have heard your crying in the night. Tell the storm you belong to Me.” ~You Belong by Mela Kamin

Click to open this link and Listen for a Minute….You Belong by Mela Kamin

John 16:33 picture, created with Plixr,  original picture credit

5 Responses

  1. This is a very relevant and encouraging word. I am definitely sharing
    this with my circle. Thank you for this reminder to trust!

  2. [...] Posts What to Tell the StormHaving a Rough Morning?You Were Given This Life BecauseImages of GentlenessStrength Despite All the [...]

  3. [...] What to Tell the Storm [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

