Overcoming Our Pests

ritzy readersBeen getting acquainted with growing degrees of increasing strength in one area of my life: my reading glasses…

At this half-decade point of life, I reluctantly bid farewell to the cute, fashionable “Readers” and moved on to the “sensible shoes” of the glasses world: reading glasses. It has been a trial-and-error of deciding when I want to see and when I want to see clearly. During a recent talk, I almost had an aerobic workout bobbing my glasses on/off and on/off as I desperately tried to decide if I wanted to, you know, see the beautiful faces of my audience or speak from a blurred mesh of outline notes.

Sometimes I also mistype words. It is comical at best, glaringly mistaken at worst.

Sunday night, emancipated from my glasses, I wrote to my (married) friend Jon and typed an “H” in his name instead.

 “Hi Jon” morphed in to “Hi Hon”…I gasped so loud I woke the dog.

Because of Grace there is “ctrl/z”.
In a techno-spin on royal taste-testers, I need a royal proofreader.glasses on book

Today, in a pre-dawn, pre-coffee, pre-glasses haze, I misread one of Os Hillman’s email devotionals titles. The blog post title Hillman intended as “Overcoming Our Past” I misread as “Overcoming Our Pests”.

My initial confusion yielded to God’s Grace-filled silent nudge: there are pests to swat away…

little foxes that destroy the vine  …little time-wasters, thought-intruders, rabbit holes of redundancy…that steer me away from God

and Grace

In addition to the “big” deals of illness, trauma, addiction, parenting, work, etc… there are little pest annoyances that multiply into a swarm of distraction/busyness/worry/doubt/dread/play/trivia.

For me, it begins as a single thought, then a recurrence, then a growing pursuit or an increasingly dark feeling of dread.

True to Hillman’s misread title, my daily pests must be disciplined and overcome.

let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us…Hebrews 12:1

In awareness and willingness to reverse, Because of Grace, God taps me to see with spiritual Readers.

butterflyIt is said that if we were to help the butterfly remove itself from the cocoon, the butterfly would not be strong enough to survive. It is the struggle that prepares the butterfly to become strong enough to fly. Without the struggle in the cocoon, it could not survive as a butterfly.

The Lord prepares each of us in similar ways. He does make all things beautiful in His time if we are willing to be patient. ~Os Hillman

Do you ever notice annoying pests? Do you ever need your spiritual Readers? What spiritual pest-swatter works for you?

4 Responses

  1. I have glasses that allow me to see, walk and read.I got them so I could walk a construction site and write reports. I still guess alot when I read stuff and forget my glasses. The Apostle Paul had eye problems. That is why he wrote big. He was able to see the Big Picture. His focus was clear Gods grace in our weakness. Keeping God as a Big God. So my thought is if I focus on a Big God, I cannot see the little pests without my magnifying glass.

  2. Thank you Lord our God! Amen…….

Leave a Reply

