Wealth or Poverty

Herbert Simon, Nobel Prize winning economist commented

“A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention”

Do you agree?

I think a variation of this is true in my spiritual life.

A wealth of distractions creates of poverty of attention on my relationship with God. I may not overtly say “No” to God but I definitely say, “Not Now”

Especially during storms.

And even during times of immense blessing.

Or extreme busyness.

I think I know best about this life that He gave to me.
Ahhh…
Because of Grace, He promises peace in the storms of distractions. He gives calm and steadiness in flurry.

He is Jehovah Shalom

Are we rich today or in poverty?

Have we “said ‘yes’ to God’s grace of a Messiah?” Have our lives “said ‘no’ to God’s gift of this moment” as Ann Voskamp describes in this post?

Ann Voskamp cautions, “we are always saying yes to someone”

Ann’s reminder is for me today: Peace is a Person, not a place

And we are rich in His grace!

But my eyes are fixed on you, Sovereign LORD;  in you I take refuge  ~Psalm 141:8

Leave a Reply

