Focus Word: Belong

focus word belongMost of the last few months I’ve wondered where I belong and to whom I belong. I always knew before.

Before.

I thought I belonged to vows of marital belonging. These are said with concrete intentions. They are explicit.

I thought I belonged to contractual-type, implicit vows of occupational belonging.

I thought I belonged to health and nutrition.

When these vows break, unfaithfulness enters, jobs end, malignancy then surgury intrudes, the question blares with Neon insistence, blinking incessantly:
Where do I belong? And to who?

The books of Numbers and Leviticus address in minute detail, over and over, about where people and things belong. Where was I in those passages? I read the question of Boaz asked about Ruth and shuddered that I had no answer for myself. Ruth 2:4-6

“Who does that young woman belong to?”

Have you ever felt the same way?

I took forays and trips to places I thought I might belong, I could belong. Should I belong? There were ascensions to ideas and practices to which I thought would be good to belong.

i must belong somewhere

Slowly, very slowly, I received great comfort in The One power that never changed. Never wavered. Never accused. Never blamed. Never rescinded an offer. Never was unfaithful. Never lied, but offered the embrace of Belongingness. To me, who belonged.

The Belong. In the end, the nurturing came from God’s belonging invitation.

All of this did not fall into place for me in a linear progression. When I write that slowly I received great comfort, it was not the comfort that came slowly but my realization of the comfort.

I am nurtured by The Belongingness that is God. This is not boasting but realizing that what I received has always been there and never left in blaming abandon.

Posts on Belonging: April 29

Bible Verses that spoke to me of Belonging:

Ephesians 1:4 God chose us to belong to Christ before the world was created. He chose us to be holy and without blame in his eyes. He loved us.

Isaiah 44:5 Some will say, ‘I belong to the LORD’

Ezekiel 18:4 For everyone belongs to me, the parent as well as the child—both alike belong to me

Malachi 2:15 Has not the one God made you? You belong to him in body and spirit.

Romans 14:8 If we live, we live for the Lord; and if we die, we die for the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.

Hebrews 10:39 But we do not belong to those who shrink back and are destroyed, but to those who have faith and are saved.

1 John 2:19 They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us.

This video: Jason Gray – Remind Me Who I Am

This blog: Grit and Glory

These books: Grace for the Good Girl by Emily Freeman and The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown.

sometimes right back where you started from is right where you belong

Most of the last few months I’ve wondered where I belong and to whom I belong. I always knew before.

Before.

I thought I belonged to vows of marital belonging. These are said with concrete intentions. They are explicit.

I thought I belonged to contractual-type, implicit vows of occupational belonging.

I thought I belonged to health and nutrition.

When these vows break, unfaithfulness enters, jobs end, cancer intrudes, the question blares with Neon insistence, blinking incessantly:
Where do I belong? And to who?

The books of Numbers and Leviticus address in minute detail, over and over, about where people and things belong. Where was I in those passages? I read the question of Boaz asked about Ruth and shuddered that I had no answer for myself. Ruth 2:4-6 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ruth+2:4-6&version=NIV

“Who does that young woman belong to?”

Have you ever felt the same way?

I took forays and trips to places I thought I might belong, I could belong. Should I belong? There were ascensions to ideas and practices to which I thought would be good to belong.

Slowly, very slowly, I received great comfort in The One power that never changed. Never wavered. Never accused. Never blamed. Never rescinded an offer. Never was unfaithful. Never lied, but offered the embrace of Belongingness. To me, who belonged.

The Belong. In the end, the nurturing came from God’s belonging invitation.

All of this did not fall into place for me in a linear progression. When I write that slowly I received great comfort, it was not the comfort that came slowly but my realization of the comfort.

I am nurtured by The Belongingness that is God. This is not boasting but realizing that what I received has always been there and never left in blaming abandon.

Posts on Belonging: April 29 https://becauseofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/a-word-from-the-sponsorapril-29/

Bible Verses that spoke to me of Belonging:

God chose us to belongto Christ before the world was created. He chose us to be holy and without blame in his eyes. He loved us.
~Ephesians 1:4 New International Reader’s Version

Isaiah 44:5 Some will say, ‘I belong to the LORD’

Ezekiel 18:4 For everyone belongs to me, the parent as well as the child—both alike belong to me

Malachi 2:15 Has not the one God made you? You belong to him in body and spirit.

Romans 14:8 If we live, we live for the Lord; and if we die, we die for the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.

Hebrews 10:39 But we do not belong to those who shrink back and are destroyed, but to those who have faith and are saved.

1 John 2:19 They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us.

This video: Jason Gray – Remind Me Who I Am  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSIVjjY8Ou8&feature=youtu.be

This blog: Grit and Glory http://gritandglory.com/

These books: Grace for the Good Girl by Emily Freeman and The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown.

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Leave a Reply

