Mid-week Question~January 30~Spirit of Open

On this last Wednesday of the first month of the “new” year, I am wondering about openness. I read an article meant for instructional tech on building open source online courses. The article asked an academic question:

Is there a “Spirit of Open?”

Question: Is there a spirit of open?

Instead of Open Course Software, I wonder instead about another venue of openness. I wonder about non-academic openness. I am wondering about identity openness. And while all my wondering is going on, Julie Daley posts a quote online. This part stuns me:

But when you look at anything as separate from you, you cannot love it for you are afraid of it. Alienation causes fear and fear deepens alienation. It is a vicious circle. ~Nisargadatta Maharaj, From “I am that.”

Do I build my identity around my defects, as Rick Warren declares? If so, can I be open? Can I have a “Spirit of Open” to another way?

Might I begin again? Might I remember who I am not? And while Nisargadatta Maharaj of the quote above advocates “Only self – realization can break it. Go for it resolutely,” might there also be another option?

Might I nurture a Spirit of Open and (re)build my identity around who I am in Grace? Who I am in God’s eyes?

map of grace

How might we nurture a Spirit of Open?

One Response

  1. Open our hands. As I open my hands I can give and receive. Closed hands do not receive or give. If my hands are open I can receive Gods Grace. If my hands are closed I cannot receive anything but only grasp what is in my hands.
    1 Timothy 6:12 Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.

    By the two hands of faith and hope I take hold with open hands to this eternal life.

Leave a Reply

