Mid-Week Question: Can you live in the space between the ideal and the actual?

What makes the desert beautiful,’ said the little prince, ‘is that somewhere it hides a well…” ~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Can you live in the space between the ideal and the actual? When you see an injustice, a change that needs to be made in the life of another, a loved one perhaps, can you enter into the change arena? Most of us can leverage the energy of love to be an advocate.

But then …

Things don’t always work out for the best, despite the pithy admonition.  At least not on our timeline. That is where the real grace is needed. Grace, then to stay to minister when circumstances are less than ideal or just flat out wrong. Grace to not give up and abandon those in need because, “well, I gave it my best shot.”

That’s why bereavement experts say to check on folks who’ve lost a loved one at the 1, 3, 6-month marker. That is why AA has chips at recovery intervals. That is why we push through the desert of rotten circumstances in search of the well, the one refuge.

I am not talking about fatalism. I am not talking about refusing to see damage, trouble, problems, challenges. I am not talking about “putting on a happy face” or “looking the other way.”

I am talking about abiding with others who have a need. We need you. Abiding with those who need longer to heal, to recover, to get healthy, and even to speak up for themselves.

Abiding and Finding the well, the respite, the energy to minister, finding, the well of Saint-Exupéry.

It is so difficult to do this. I was about to give up myself until the nudge of a strong friend gave me new energy. Energy to stay in the space between the crisis and the relief. To accept a timetable not of my choosing.

If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.

Sometimes the hardest thing to do is live in the space between the ideal and the actual.

But, because of grace, it is possible.

Might you share how you live in the space between the ideal and the actual? The verses or practices that help you persevere–Between the need and the change?

Habakkuk 2:3
John 15:10
1 John 2:27
Romans 12:13
Psalm 62:8

~~~

Other questions

3 Responses

  1. […] I continue to abide in the space between the ideal and the actual, I continue to press for a change in a tender matter. Over the next few Sundays, I will share my […]

  2. […] Mid-Week Question: Can you live in the space between the ideal and the actual? […]

  3. […] of Grace, even though there are some definite low valleys and pothole experiences, I can rise to remember my identity in Him. Be who He made you to be and press […]

Leave a Reply

